Take gateway laptop apart??

lilsol

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2009
need help disassembling Gateway laptop.
W730-K8X also known as 7500 series
I want to check screen connections. you have to wiggle it often after it blacks out...but then it comes back.
thank you

one-shot

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2006
I had that same problem with my Gateway laptop. I sent it in and it was never fixed. I actually sent it in twice. Is it still under warranty?

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Check on bottom first. I'm a computer tech by trade myself. Actually have my apple cert. But my wife had a dell laptop, older one, but it had something similar to what you are talking about. However, on the bottom, under the lcd, a screw was loose, another missing. Tightened the one screw, found one to replace the other, and it cleared up. We actually later sold the laptop and it was working fine.

If this does not work for you, I would check the cable, on mac laptops, you'll find screws on the sides usually, however, on pc's, sometimes screws are on the front. remove the screws, and if you are careful, use a flat screwdriver, though if you have a piece of plastic, that is flat like a screwdriver, that's better, and you should be able to pop the back off if you are careful.