Reference 5850 vs OC

Hecktor

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
First off apologies for any incorrect terminology I'm fairly new to all of this.

Right now I am looking into buying a 5850 for a new machine I'm building. I was going to buy a GIGABYTE 5850OC since right now it's on sale at newegg.ca (I'm Canadian) and it would match my GIGABYTE motherboard. I started reading reviews though and it seemed that it has problems running 2D so constantly runs faster than it should and it has no voltage control which causes problems OC'ing it further. Well I have never built my own machine so I don't know how important these things are but I would like the ability to OC and maximize my machine.

For my current build I am going to be buying a single 5850 now and adding a second one in crossfire later. The way I see it I have two options: Buy the 5850OC from newegg.ca for 275 now and just throw another one in later without modifying it at all and hoping the latest BIOS update will fix any problems it has (honestly I am not even entirely sure what that means but I going to figure it out when I get to that stage of building it heh) OR buy the reference model of the 5850 from ncix.com and leave it alone for now but be able to OC and change the voltage at will when I need to. That is of course if the reference model does include voltage control and the 5850 from ncix is the reference model.

Here's the two links:

5850OC -$275 Newegg - http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814125318&Tpk=gigabyte%205850

5850 Reference - $349 NCIX - http://ncix.com/products/?sku=51827&vpn=GV-R585OC-1GD&manufacture=Gigabyte

Hopefully I made sense, quick recap:

1) Wondering if the ncix version of the 5850 is the reference model
2) Wondering if the ncix version of the 5850 has voltage control and is easier to OC to specifications
3) Wondering if it's worth it to pay the extra cash to get the reference model from ncix over the factory OCed card from newegg