Sign in with
Your question

Thinking of setting up a backup with RAID

Last response: in Storage
August 28, 2010 12:37:38 AM

I've never done this before, and I'm fairly inexperienced with computers--sorry, but please try to bear with me. I was thinking of purchasing three internal 3.5" HDDs (1TB) and putting them in RAID 5, so I get 2TB of storage space and one drive can safely fail before I lose any data.

Basically, my question is--how do I go about doing this? I want to purchase a 3-bay enclosure that supports 3.5" drives, I think, so what enclosure should I purchase? I've looked all over for information and recommendations on enclosures, but I just can't find any sort of definitive source or answer! Looking for a USB 2.0 interface and RAID 5 support. USB 3.0 or eSATA is a plus!

Edit: 4-bay enclosures are fine too.
a c 415 G Storage
August 28, 2010 1:27:38 AM

RAID isn't a backup. It protects against drive failure, but it doesn't protect against a whole host of other risks such as viruses, corruption, accidental deletion, power surges that damage equipment, theft, etc. etc. And RAID actually adds some risks (such as screwing things up when a drive fails and you have to replace it - more common than you'd think).

If you're looking to protect precious data, then you need to get a backup strategy in place before you worry about RAID. A good backup strategy puts copies of your data onto external disks that are only connected for the purposes of running the backup. Ideally you'd have two or more external drives that you alternate, and one of them would be stored offsite.

Once you've got a sound backup plan in place, then you can look at RAID in it's proper context - to reduce downtime due to failed drives. THAT's what RAID buys you - less downtime. It doesn't do a very good job of protecting your data.
m
l
August 28, 2010 3:14:44 AM

I do have a sound backup plan in place already. It's not relevant to finding a 3/4 bay enclosure.
m
l
Related resources