kdad92

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2010
ok, hi all
before a month ago, getting a new computer meant going to walmart and saying " WOW, THIS ONE IS ONLY $399.00"
:) i've been watching vids, reading forums and have a much better understanding and appreciation as of late. i said all that to let u understand that if i sound like a total noob i am...lol
from what i have learned....popular opinion is that a single gpu solution is usually best. so i am trying to understand more about oc'ing the 955 BE i am intersted in building my system around. if i can oc it to 3.8 - 4.0 like most people say it is easy to do, my processor will be sending info much faster to my GPU. Is it better to crossfire/sli? I mean, will i get more performance from my system, avoiding bottlnecks, if i have 2 gpu's? if so, can anyone suggest a good mobo that offers 16 lanes x2. thanx and if i'm missing something please feel free to comment.

oh and i plan on gaming at 1600 x1080 using two 23 inch monitors, albeit, i only want main monitor for gaming and second monitor will have windows open with music or other stuff. price not factor but i dont play crysis. i hate fps. lol

hythos

Distinguished
Jul 1, 2009
I have a 955BE running 3.6Ghz at 57C under load (just a slight O'C with plenty more to go), with a cheapy (but purdy beefy) CPU fan/sink, and custom RAM heat-sink fins. While I went with a budget Biostar TA-890GXB board, I can't comment on XFire, but, I think you might have some trouble with using just two displays - you'd have the wide border down the center.
I'm using 2-40" Samsungs, and realize it's not gonna work too well unless I remove the LCD elements from the form-factor, as it adds a 4" separation in between...
monitors.jpg