Sign in with
Your question

First raid 0 setup. Anything I need to set up?

Last response: in Storage
August 30, 2010 1:46:20 PM

Hi all. I have just upgraded my system to include a 5 * 250GB raid setup as my main windows 7 drive.

It works ok and I get sustained read of ~340MB/s and sustained write of ~377MB/s as measured in crystalmark.

As I'm fairly new to raid is there any settings I need to optimise or set up? I mean those speeds are fine by me, I assume the lower than write read speed is down to the drive being an os drive and raids occuring during test maybe.

I did see someone mention setting up write caching, where would I find this setting?

Just general advice really on how to optimise Raid or if what I have is about what is expected and I should just leave settings well alone.

System Spec...

E8400 @ 4.35GHz, 1.45Volts, 481Mhz FSB
Corsair H70 CPU water cooler
Asus P5Q Deluxe
Sapphire HD4890 Vapor-X 2GB @ 910/1050 core/mem
OCZ Gold 1066 @ 934Mhz
5 * Seagate Barracuda 250GB .11 w/ NCQ Raid 0
1TB Samsung Backup
160GB Samsung External Backup (USB)
K-World Analogue/Digital TV and Data Capture Card
Creative Labs X-Fi 7.1 Sound Card
Corsair HX850W PSU
2 * Phillips amBX Starter Kits
24" Acer v243h Monitor

More about : raid setup set

a b G Storage
August 31, 2010 3:45:29 PM

Not knowing your level of experience, you do realize that with RAID0 you double your chances of data loss (now you have 2 hard drives that can (will eventually) fail)?

Also, write caching should not be done without a battery backup - otherwise data loss due to a power failure is more likely.

Regards,
Roger.
September 1, 2010 2:35:10 PM