Sign in with
Your question

Trying to cool SLI GTX 480

Last response: in Overclocking
September 7, 2010 7:24:55 PM

So I just built my first computer and it works to say the least and everything is running fine with the exception of the GPU's run HOT! I am new to computer building and just started OCing this one. I know that the 480's are notorious for running really hot but I'd like to do something to keep the temps below what they are currently running.

I have no idea how to run water cooling loops so I'm going to nix that idea. My question is this, what options do I have out there that will cool my 2 GPU's and keep them at least under 75 C? Here is my setup:

Case: Silverstone RV02
Fans: 3 x 180mm Air Penetrator AP181 fans (the aftermarket ones) that sit in the bottom of the chassis. 1 x stock 120mm exhaust fan
HSF: Prolimatech Megahalems HS on the CPU and a push/pull 120mm fan setup on the HS.
GPU: 2 x GTX 480's in SLI on slots 1 and 3 of the Mobo
Mobo: EVGA e760 classified x58

Because the case has the mobo turned at 90 deg, I am getting confused. I would think I would want the air to flow in the vertical direction towards the vents and exhaust fan basically blowing over the GPU's but I am new and like I said, have only built this one computer and since it is in a non-traditional case I don't know how to mount something without blocking things.

Any suggestions and diagrams would be awesome. The picture below is the case, the megahalems is mounted in. The second picture isn't my build, it's some oter guys but the megahalems is mounted the same so its just for visuals. (can't take a picture of mine because I'm at work! sorry)

More about : cool sli gtx 480

a c 330 K Overclocking
September 7, 2010 8:24:08 PM

Define how 'hot' your GPUs are running at. Remember, most graphics cards are designed to run close to 100C without shutting down, but I would't recommend temps over 85C if possible. Can you post ambient and load temps?