Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Playing Sherlock Holmes with a Craigslist purchase (CPU Heat)

Tags:
  • CPUs
Last response: in CPUs
May 20, 2009 8:01:52 PM

Hello everyone! I've been lurking around the forums for the past few months looking for answers and I was a bit overwhelmed at the outpouring of support and suggestions the community gives --- even to folks who are new to the boards!

Luckily I'm a veteran computer builder, so I'm familiar with most of the terms you all have been throwing around in similar threads.

OK, so here's the story:

My girlfriend and I play WoW, but her only computer is a tiny ACER 9" laptop, so we decided to buy/build a cheap gaming rig that would at least allow her to run the game at ~30FPS.

I found a guy selling his home-built computer on Craigslist for about $275. Here's what I can ascertain from the Hardware Directory:

Intel Celeron
2Gigs of DDR2 Ram
PF88 Motherboard
Radeon X800
Crappy tiny ancient 60Gig hard drive

Now when I picked it up from him, I noticed it had no sides to the case, he said he lost them. "It'll run cooler that way anyway, heh." he said.
I should've been more wary.

I've had it for about a month now, and the thing has had nothing but heat problems. When I first got it and installed WoW, the thing shut down on me 3 or 4 times. After installing SpeedFan, I realized that the core temperature was idling at around 55C, and when searching the harddrive (for hidden, illicit photos or incriminating evidence of terrorist activities :o  ) the temp would quickly rise to ~70+ Celcius.

I got into BIOS and saw that the automatic shutoff was set at 75C, a number that I felt comfortable that a properly-heatsinked, non-OC'd Celeron should be able to avoid. I saw that the CPU Fan was set to scale with the temperature, and logged out.