First Time Builder - What to expect?

raen

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2009
Hello people =)

I'm currently still in the 'researching' stage at the moment. Still trying to understand the whole process of building your own pc. I had zero knowledge about pc components before researching. I say 'had' because I kinda understand about the motherboard and chipset components now. But I still need to figure out the deal bout graphics cards and power supplys.

So I guess learning about the components is the easier part?
I have no idea what to expect after I wire everything up. What actually happens? Do like stick in an OS into the optical drive or is there some tweaking involved before everything can run properly? Ive seen the word BIOS or something before. Not sure what that means.

Like I mentioned before, I am VERY new to all this. You may wonder why someone like me would consider building a pc. Well the thing is my laptop died less than a week ago. Because my video card burned from overheating or something. The video card is integrated into the motherboard, so to repair the laptop I had to replace the mother board,,, which would cost me NZ$800. Almost the cost of the actual laptop new. So yea screw fixing laptop, how about I just try to build my own computer =D

So please. I'm sure you're all very much more experienced than me.

Please be sure to add in the steps I need to take before its actually finished. And if you've EVER had any problems when building. What were they?

Oh yes. My specs would be something like:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500
ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB
Corsair 2x2GB
Western Digital 320GB Serial ATA HDD
Asustek P5Q Pro (Im still unsure about the this, any recommendations? ^^)
NO idea about powersupply, case, optical drive, or extra cooling.

Thanks very much for your helps... ^^

AG206

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2009
read read read... it took me about 2 months of reading to understand just the current hardware and configurations and what was decent for my first build.