Sign in with
Your question

Maximus II Formula - No BIOS access and keeps restarting

Last response: in Motherboards
July 28, 2009 5:34:55 PM

Hello Tom`s Hardware Community :) 

I wont make a long introduction to my first post in here, but after Googling for this problem I ended up in here to see if I could get some help. Asus is NOT helping me (told me to return the board after my first email) and the retailer just keeps asking me if I really know how to get into BIOS. Im no expert in computers, but at least Im past that stage.

My hardware;
* Case; Cooler Master HAF 932
* PSU; Corsair 750w ATX/EPS
* Mobo; Asus Maximus II Formula
* CPU; C2D E8500
* CPU cooler; Zalman CNPS 9700 NT
* Videocard; XFX 8800GTS 512MB
* Memory; Crucial Ballistix DDR2 PC6400 CL4 E.P.P
* Disk; Samsung Spinpoint 750GB F1 SATA2

I will try to keep this as simple, yet as detailed, as possible;

- Built the computer about 2 weeks ago. Everything started up perfectly from the first try
- Installed Vista Ultimate 64Bit, all ok so far
- After tweaking Vista and installing drivers, programs etc, I did a restart and went into BIOS to check the sweet stuff
- Did some very small changes (no heavy overclocking) and restarted. All ok
- Did some benchmarks (3DMark06, PCMark etc) and checked temperatures. All ok
- After a few days of "normal use", I installed Crysis (just to try that on my new rig) and went back to BIOS to overclock a little - but now I cant access the BIOS, and this is where the problems starts:

1 - To get access to BIOS from this point, I have to either Flash it or CLR CMOS
2 - No matter which BIOS version Im trying (2104, 1901, 1802, 1307 so far), it only lets me in the first time I hit DEL, after that it just "locks up"
3 - When I hit DEL, it only takes me to the "Start Windows Normally" and "Run memory diagnostics". If I hit DEL like a mad man it sometimes takes me to "Safe Mode etc etc"