Computer won't boot - Motherboard DOA? [SOLVED]

Daniel_W

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2009
Hello,

I'm trying to repair a system that's a couple of years old. I'm just about out of ideas... and so I've registered.
I'm CompTIA A+ certified, and have had a fair amount of experience. That said, I'm a newbie in a lot of things.

The system was powering on, but would not display anything onscreen. The video card is a PCI-E nVidia thing. I tried a known good AGP card and a PCI card, but nothing worked. So I assumed the motherboard (Asrock 939Dual-SATA2) was bad.

I ordered this Foxconn motherboard, and installed it a couple hours ago. But now, the system does not even power on. The power supply also does not flash on plugging it in.

The power supply is good - I tested it in another machine.
I tried shorting the power switch pins - no luck.

System:
Athlon 64 3200+ 939
Foxconn NF4UK8AA-8EKRS
1 GB dual channel Corsair ValueSelect DDR 400
PCI-E GeForce 8400GS
Coolmax AP-500X power supply

So... any ideas?

[EDIT: Added system specs and symptom]
[EDIT: Solved]

If you look in my guide, linked in my sig or at the top of the forum, you'll find a section about PSUs, with links to some important articles for you. You should know a bit more about power supplies.

I would not be surprised however if you had two bad 939 boards. They seem to be dropping left and right, as if they had a shelf life.

Here is the checklist. As you had two bad boards, perhaps you have a short on the backside? Did you breadboard (build outside the case)?
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-build-post-checklist

I really don't agree with that exactly.....
When all you could buy was socket 939 boards, there were bad ones and there were excellant ones.
Asrock and Foxconn make solid products, may not be as popular as ASUS, Gigabyte, etc, but they make decent products for people a little more value minded.
Follow Proximans suggestions, and start with the basics outside the case.