XP-Vista Installation Please Help!!

jaffa156

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2009
Im kinda new to this and not really sure about sorftware, but i have a toshiba laptop with vista installed on it, but its really poor and i much much prefer XP. My parents have a dell PC and have a reinstallation disk for XP with it, would it would if i used this on my laptop? and would i need to activate it somehow?

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
Before going to all that trouble, I use Vista myself. Try doing this.

Go to control panel, and under user account settings, disable the user account controls(where it asks for the password with everything you do.)

Also, set your control panel and start menus to classic view. I bet that will help. I know it took me a while to figure vista out when I first got it, mind you I'm a certified computer tech. But now it's great. Keep messing with it and you get the hang of it. And for me it's actually stable. Ask around if you need help.

But a lot of manufacturers sold XP as a downgrade to Vista and you ended up paying an extra fee. So you may have to shell out another hundred bucks for a copy of xp. No sense in taking a step back in my opinion though.

jaffa156

Distinguished
Feb 21, 2009

Great thanks for the advice, anyother ways in which i could speed up my system?

ohiou_grad_06

Distinguished
actually yes. Once you've changed everything over to the classic view, go to start menu, click run, then type in msconfig. Click ok. Select the option for selective startup, then click the startup tab and deselect things you don't want booting with your computer, like any programs you don't use etc. If you are computer savvy, you can kind of tell what something is if you expand the little "Command" bar, because it will give you an idea where on your drive things are located.

Also, if you norton for example, get rid of that. In my opinion, norton and mcafee antiviruses make a system so slow. I recommend a free antivirus from here.

http://free.avg.com/