Sign in with
Your question

Thinking about SSD for new Build

Last response: in Storage
September 3, 2010 11:27:45 PM

Hello all,

I'm looking at putting together a new computer in early October, and I am considering buying an SSD drive as the primary. Any mobo I buy would have SATA 3 GB ports, so I should see pretty good performance over a standard HD.

My usage basically consists of browsing the web, streaming music, gaming, and writing C++/C# code ( with occasional text docs or image editing thrown in ). In general, my plan would be to install Windows 7 and any games or appliations on the SSD, but possibly have a stanard HD for file creation. I use the computer an average of 3-4 hours per day.

However, I am totally new to SSD and I am hoping somebody could help answer a few questions:

- Considering my usage, does anybody know how long an MLC drive would last before performance starts to degrade? I am considering at the Intel X25-M Mainstream 80GB as a point of reference.

- I might not even need a secondary disk HD, as I have another computer with plenty of space for long term storage. Is it a bad idea to rely solely on an SSD drive? For example, when writing code I make tons of small edits to a large number of text files, which I have heard can be hard on the SSD. Would I save myself a lot of wear if I kept all volatile files on a standard HD?

- Are there any good lists of tips and things to avoid regarding SSD usage?

Thanks much for any advice!

More about : thinking ssd build

a b G Storage
September 3, 2010 11:42:57 PM

1. Current generation MLC drives will last you a while... about the same as a normal HDD imo. My X25-G2 is still kicking after all this time.

2. It depends. If you think you will never need more than 80GB on that PC, then you can just have an SSD.

3. Turn off defrag, prefetching, indexing,etc on the SSD.

Quote: