Websense update from 6.3.1 to 7.1 MSDE UPGRADE

Diaspora

Distinguished
Jul 3, 2009
Hi I am a Websense Administrator

I am not asking for assistance, I have just want to share with the Community the struggle I have overcome recently with a Websense update from 6.3.1 to 7.1

If I had the below information this would have saved me a load of time.

Websense is very easy to install, just grab the software from www.websense.com

it is only difficult if you are upgrading from a previous version of Wsense which utilizes Microsoft’s MSDE 7, as the current latest version from websense (7.1) utilizes MSDE 2000 sp4

so in my case I was required to install the newer Microsoft MSDE 2000a with SP4, and reserve the current Data within the Default Database instance.

I downloaded Microsoft’s MSDE software, if you run the software from windows it will install and Setup a Default Instance with a BLANK password (very secure ;)) (you can refer to this via services.msc called MSSQL$), now if you already have a default instance running you will receive a error "the instance name specified is invalid"

so here is a summary of the steps I followed which obviously can be applied to any MSDE upgrade.

*Note that Microsoft suggest backing up your Database before trying to upgrade (makes sense)

Upgrade MSDE to SP4

Downloaded these 2 files
MSDE 2000a
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=413744D1-A0BC-479F-BAFA-E4B278EB9147&displaylang=en

MSDE 2000 SP4
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=8e2dfc8d-c20e-4446-99a9-b7f0213f8bc5&displaylang=en
SQL2000.MSDE-KB884525-SP4-x86-ENU.EXE

Now first I installed the MSDE 2000a from Run dialog box
<Drive Letter>:\MSDE2000A\Setup.exe INSTANCENAME="Websense" SAWP="SecurePassword"