Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Useful/Recommended Programs for Overclocking

Last response: in Overclocking
September 20, 2010 9:02:44 AM

Hey everyone. I am a first time builder and overclocker. I just finished my first build:

i7 930
asus p6t
msi cyclone gtx 460 1 gb
6 gb corsair 1600 cas 9 Ram
750 antec ea earthwatts

I was wondering if I could get recommendations for programs that are valuable to download and install that will help me monitor the stability of my CPU, GPU, and Mobo and that will help me overclock. I have heard of GPU-Z and Coretemp? Anyways, overall I just need a lot of help and would appreciate anyone's recommendations for the programs I should download and install. Thanks everyone!
a b K Overclocking
September 20, 2010 12:09:31 PM

Those are two of the top ones. I would also dl prime 95, 3Dmark06 or vantage. Asus probably includes some OC software like most mobo manufacturers, but this is mostly caca and may cause instability itself.

The tried and true method of BIOS overclocking is still the method most recommended.
I would go ahead and ballpark your CPU overclock with the ASUS stuff, then set the values in the BIOS. Then remove the ASUS OC software from your machine and tweak to your heart's content.

msi has great software for overclocking video cards so I would go ahead and grab that too.
m
l
September 20, 2010 5:23:43 PM

buzznut said:
Those are two of the top ones. I would also dl prime 95, 3Dmark06 or vantage. Asus probably includes some OC software like most mobo manufacturers, but this is mostly caca and may cause instability itself.

The tried and true method of BIOS overclocking is still the method most recommended.
I would go ahead and ballpark your CPU overclock with the ASUS stuff, then set the values in the BIOS. Then remove the ASUS OC software from your machine and tweak to your heart's content.

msi has great software for overclocking video cards so I would go ahead and grab that too.