Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What's holding me back?

Last response: in Overclocking
September 20, 2010 4:45:14 PM

First off, here are my specs:

Board: M2n-sli Deluxe (Bus 2000/1600 Mt/s)
FSB: Tunable from 200 mhz - 400mhz
Pci-E: Tunable from 100mhz-200mhz

RAM: 4Gx1 XMS DDR2 800 [(Timing 4x4x4x12) (Volt. 2.1) (Cas Lat. 4)]
CPU: Phenom 4x 9850
PSU: Antec TPQ 850w
GPU: 2xGTX 275

I am totally new to overclocking and have been reading a ton over the past few days and learning a great deal about my computer. I'm trying to get the grasp of multiplyers and voltage. I'm trying to gain a better 3dmark06 benchmark. My gaming experience is already better with the new cards, but for the sheer sake of competition with friends I want my 3dmark06 to soar.

I went from an 8800GTS marking about 10,200... To near 11,000 with a single GTX 275 (x16 pci-e) and slightly lower in SLI. (x8 x8 pci-e on my board) This is after I turned VSYNC off.

I know my CPU is holding me back so I tinkered with the AI settings in my bios where you can bump it up 3%, 5%, 8% or 10% max. 10-percent increases CPU from 2.5ghz to 2.75ghz... and I saw 3dmark06 score rise to 11,873 in SLI and 12,021 with a single card. Here are the settings in CPU-Z.

I know I can manually squeeze a little more out of this CPU, but am contemplating the Phenom II 945 3.0ghz which I know I can OC quite a bit more... maybe to 3.5ghz.
Based on the increase of 1,000 points with .25ghz OC on my 9850... would I get 4,000 more points if I overclocked a P2 945 to 3.5ghz?

How much are my mobo and RAM slowing me down? Is my FSB the problem? Is it even worth messing with them are is my gain going to be minimal?

More about : holding back

September 21, 2010 2:43:49 PM

Nothing wrong with that CPU!

I think you got a stinker MB there, look at the HT link speed on the CPUZ you posted....ok, Im running an Athlon II X4 stock 2.6GHz @ 3.25GHz with HT link of 2250,