Sign in with
Your question

Sub $750 Gaming System (First Build)

Last response: in Systems
February 26, 2009 3:44:07 AM

This is my first time to build a system and I was hoping I could get a bit of help. I cannot spend a penny over $750 on the system. I will be using it for playing the latest games FEAR 2, GTA4, Crysis and so on. And I also do a lot of video encoding. This will probably be my only system for the next several years so I am going for major upgradability.

This is what I am planning to get so far.
Case: NZXT Apollo
Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 Intel P45
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
GPU: Sapphire Radeon HD 4850 1GB
Ram: G.SKILL PI Black 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
Fan: Scythe S-FLEX
(I already have a hard drive and DVD burner for it)

This being my first time to build a system I am hoping someone can answer a few questions.

First is I am having a hard time finding a decent PSU that will fit in my budget. The most I am wiling to spend on one is $100. If possible I would like one that can handle two Radeon HD 4850s in Crossfire, but it is not mandatory. I am not doing crossfire now, but it would be nice to have the option in the future.

I was considering this PSU "RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-630SS" but after reading some customer reviews it seems to have a pretty high failure rate. So any suggestions would be much appreciated.

My second question is, other than the PSU is that everything I need to build a working system, or am I forgetting some major component?

And last but not least, are all of those parts compatible with one another? (especially the RAM)

Much appreciation in advance to any one who can provide some answers. (And sorry for the long-windedness of this post :sleep:  )

February 26, 2009 4:27:59 AM

CORSAIR 650W ATX12V / EPS12V Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply
With Promo Code EMCLNNR23 $69.99
After $25.00 Mail-In Rebate
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...