Connecting a TV to My Video Card

pjs

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2007
OK, I'm really sorry for asking this because I should know more about this than I do, but I am so completely clueless and lost on this subject it's not funny. I'm a programmer, but I have very little knowledge about hardware. I need help...

My video card is a Sapphire Radeon HD 4870 with 1GB of GDDR5.

I have an oldish TV. I'd like to watch computer video (e.g. youtube or mplayer) on my TV set.

My TV set has the following input ports. I don't know what they mean, but they all appear to be RCA jacks:

Other
====
S-VIDEO

Video 1
=====
* VIDEO
* L/MONO AUDIO
* R AUDIO

Color Stream
=========
* Y
* P_B
* P_R
* L/MONO AUDIO
* R AUDIO

My TV and DVD player were a gift about 5 years ago. Maybe longer. But I've never used either one even once. Never even hooked them up. I do all my TV/movie watching on the monitor. I really just watch sites like youtube and hulu on my monitor.

But I'd like to put them to good use -- I'd like to play Dance Mania, which is very difficult with the monitor.

Can someone please tell me what I need to do to get computer video on my TV?

Thanks so much!
Pete

pjs

Distinguished
Dec 15, 2007
Thanks, all. I did some reading on S-Video. So it looks like there are 3 options:

1. S-Video: good, but not for HD b/c of bandwidth restrictions.
2. Composite video: unsuitable
3. Component: HD capable, but you have two more things to hook up.

None of these are audio capable. That appears to be a completely different ball of wax. Are there different audio standards as well?

indigoataxia

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2008