I5 swap i7 870 temp?

tommyov

Distinguished
May 31, 2010
i had just swaped cpu's tonight and seen that my idle temp went up alot on avr. 50c at load 73c i have it overclocked to 3.8ghz
i am no pro at overclocking so plz tell me what im doing wrong
oG6AA.jpg
[/url][/img]

First, we need more info on your setup. In particular, do you have aftermarket cooling? Secondly, if you want to know what might have gone wrong with the overclocking, it's vital you say just what you changed. Obviously you raised the base clock to 159 (wierd value btw, you can't get good RAM speeds with that) but did you touch voltages? LLC? C1E? Looks like you left turbo on, unless you have a "K" version CPU.

And lastly, simon is right that the i7 is simply hotter and more power hungry since it has hyperthreading.

tommyov

Distinguished
May 31, 2010
...i swaped from a i5 660..(which ran great)your going to laugh at me but, i use the gigabyte overclocking tool and then go in and play with the base clock till i see temps i like. i dont go far with it +-.i never play with the volts as i dont know what im doing. i think that the volts are on that screen shot. if you need more info ill get it. and the ram thats another question. in the intel performance tool i used to get a 5.9 score in the ram but when i over clocked the base to 159 i got a 7.2 ram score.. dont get that

e.c.o water cooler(like the h50)

Well 159 is probably running at 1590mhz and whatever the RAM's timing is, I'd guess CL8.

Not sure what the intel performance tool is, but sounds like it's underclocking RAM. A lot of DDR3 ram can get 7+ in WEI. I think mine is around 7.5 running at 1426mhz CL7.

Anyway, you should consider BIOS changes as it gives a lot more control.
If turbo is on, turning off LLC can drop temps by a couple degrees but it'll need a tad more voltage (the load voltage drops, so less heat, but at idle the voltage will show higher)

tommyov

Distinguished
May 31, 2010