Quad Core vs Dual Core and Core i7 vs Core 2

G

Hi,
I'm a programmer who would like to play some games again and I'm just looking for some advice on hardware.
Topical games for me are "Mirror's Edge", "Dead Space" and "Crysis".

I have pretty much settled on the GTX295 but I'm not as certain on the CPU; dual core, quad core, Core 2 or Core i7? First, I've looked at the E8400, my main concern is if this CPU will create a bottleneck for any of these games (note: coupled with GTX295), or not. Assuming the latter to be true, i.e. that the GTX295 is the bottleneck with an E8400 -- then there obviously isn't any point in buying a more expensive CPU, in the context of gaming.
I've read several reviews of e.g. Mirror's Edge, but when the reviews test with the most high-end graphics cards they tend to use the most extreme CPUs also. So even though Mirror's Edge runs at > 100 FPS on the test system at the review site, it might not do so on a system with a weaker CPU, and it is tricky to find reviews that take this into account -- at least I haven't found any.

1) Will an E8400 be a bottleneck when coupled with the GTX295 for these specific games?
2) Assuming 1) is true, will these specific games benefit from a quad core?

If anyone has some actual frame rates or source(s) that have such frame rates then that would be great.

It is also difficult to find actual verifiable sources on how many threads Unreal Engine 3 and Cryengine 2 utilizes -- even if some source states the engine can scale to n cores it doesn't necessarily state if core 3 and 4 is utilized anything more than a few percent, which makes it pretty trivial and pointless!
But technical issues aside I'm basically wondering about the real world issues for these specific games with this specific hardware dilemma. Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

festerovic

Distinguished