Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Concerned About High Temps with i7 950

Last response: in Overclocking
September 24, 2010 2:51:43 AM

Hello,

Just completed a new build, Gigabyte GA-X58-UD3R with an i7 950 and a Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with Arctic Silver.

I am new to OCing and reading through the guide found here:

http://www.overclockers.com/3-step-guide-overclock-core...

I have my Qpi/VTT set a 1.375 and my IOH at 1.3v, all else are stock voltages.

My Bclock is set to 160, my cpu multiplier is set to 18x (Running at 2880), Memory is 2:8 @ 640MHz DRAM (Mushkin Redlines) Uncore is 2:1 to Dram (16x) and QPi is default.

I seem to be running 45-52 c idle, and when I run prime95 I get up to 86c.

I just took off my cooler, removed all thermal paste, and re-applied. I did have ALOT of thermal paste on there so I did a better job of re-applying it this time thinking that would help but it did not it maybe helped 2c max.

Can anyone offer any advice? Would love to ultimately get this over 4ghz with my Hyper212 which should be very possible, but not with these temps.

Thanks in advance.
a b K Overclocking
September 24, 2010 3:12:02 AM

TheMike1 said:
Can anyone offer any advice? Would love to ultimately get this over 4ghz with my Hyper212 which should be very possible, but not with these temps.

The 212+ is a great budget cooler, but NOT for an overclocked i7 processor. If you want to run 4-4.2 Ghz your going to need a better cooler.

It also sounds like you left your vcore on AUTO, it's much better to manually set it, your Bios will tend to over volt things left on auto when you overclock.
September 24, 2010 3:17:30 AM

what else do you have in there? GPU? What is the case ambient?

That might affect it some. Certainly setting the vcore is a good idea too. 2880? I am not sure, but is that even the stock for the 950? I thought the 950 was like 3.1 or so....
Related resources
September 24, 2010 3:17:57 AM