Status
Not open for further replies.

Atotalnoob

Distinguished
Jun 2, 2010
Hey guys! I am a bit new at OCing (I only have done a few, and they've been easy to oc...)
I have a MSI Pro-E, core i7 930, with a HD5770 (plaining on another, and getting some more fans)
Don't ask me the name of my cooler (-.-) I bought it from some large online co (like alien ware cyberpower, ect...)... I actually built it, I just got the cooler for cheaper on their closeout section, It is Liquid, and I think 120 MM radiator...
I went into bios, and the only thing I could see for OCing is being able to change the CPU frequency, and that is it... All the things I've found say there is more then that, and so do my personal experience... CPU-z also reports no difference in my clockrate(it also says when I validate, my clockrate is 1.6 ghz?....)... I don't want an aggresive OC, just like... maybe 20% or so...
Also should I bother with OCing my HD 5770? it is a Power Colour.
Sorry for the sketchy info.
~thanks guys!
PS. I wanna know what is a good fan for the side of my case, LED preferred... I have a Coolermaster Elite 310. I can't find anything I like, newegg is preferred, but any large company(amazon, tigerdirect, ect...) is good. I had a thread going, but no one will respond...

jerryl

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2010
Ok...

Very similiar set up here....i7 930, with an ASUS 6PX58D mobo and a 5770 GPU.

First what is you PSU? That is important, becuase not only will be working it with OC, but a bad one could make this whole thing pointless as it could fry your system, as my first one did.

Second you need to up the BCLK to get more speed out of your 930. Don't mess with frequency now. It you just to up the BCLK to get more speed, but not alot. Your 930 is going to increment in steps of 21, to set you bclk to 138 and now you have a 2.9Ghz 930.