New pc build won't even power on...at all. :(

pixelcide

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009
hi everyone. I thought i would post a thread to see if anyone can help me out with my setup im building. I seem to have hit a brick wall here. I cannot get it to power up. It has yet to power up....for any amount of time.

First off, all the parts besides my power supply and network adapter are brand new. I'll try my best to give all the specifications i can.
Second, im not a total newbie to this. I've built 2 systems before, both worked perfectly and i had no problems.

These are the parts i'm using:

- 600 watt Xion power supply (taken from my previous system, never had a single problem from it)
- Intel i7 2.66 Ghz processor
- Intel DX58SO motherboard (the only i7 compatible motherboard from Intel as of now)
- 3 sticks of G Skill 2GB DD3 1600 ram (voltage is 1.5V - 1.6 V, claims to be fully compatible with i7 machines)
- Thermaltake Ultra-120 extreme cpu fan
- ATI HD 4870 graphics card
- Pioneer sata dvd burner
- 2 Western Digital 750 Gig sata hard drives
- Xclio Wind Tunnel case
- my old network adapter

Heres a summary of what i did to put it together

- screwed in my power supply
- installed the ram and cpu to the motherboard
- put a tiny bit of thermal grease on the cpu and installed the cpu fan (its bolted to the motherboard)
- screwed in the motherboard. every single hole has a screw attaching it to the case.
- installed video card and network adapter
- installed the hard drives and burner

plugged in the 4 pin power connector to everything that needs one. made sure cpu fan is plugged into the motherboard, installed all the connectors from the case (they appear all correct) to the motherboard. plugged in all the fans, plugged in the power supply to the motherboard.