Sign in with
Your question

Hyper 212 plus and thermal paste question

Last response: in Overclocking
September 27, 2010 9:04:08 PM

Hello everyone,

I am a total newbie that is trying to build my own computer. I got the cooler master hyper 212 plus heatsink and I am not sure how you apply the thermal paste. I have already searched the forums and understand that I should put two lines between the pipes on the heatsink. But do I also have to apply thermal paste on the cpu too? Or is the thermal paste on the heatsink alone sufficient. Also, would pea method be used on the cpu if it is needed? Thanks a lot.

a b K Overclocking
September 28, 2010 12:15:28 AM

Depends on the paste manufacturer's recommendations. For AS5 I made a haze (like that you get when you wax a car) on the 212+'s pipes and on the CPU; put on a little AS5 and wiped with a coffee filter. Then I put a small line across the CPU - the size of an uncooked kernel of rice.
m
l
September 28, 2010 3:38:34 AM

lol i just opened a thread about whether the included paste is any good. i too am lacking a solid idea of the best way to apply it.

I'm about to install this thing as soon as my case comes in. I'd like to point out that the hyper 212 instructions tell you pretty much nothing about how to apply the paste - nor does the instructional video on the web site. it actually skips right over that step.

Let's hear about exactly how to apply this stuff with the incl. thermal paste!
m
l
Related resources
a c 183 K Overclocking
September 28, 2010 3:48:46 AM

I use the dot method on some areas and thin lines on the copper contact pipes.
Worked well for me.
m
l
September 28, 2010 5:33:30 AM

i tried to contact coolermaster about this today and the tech told me to put it on both the heatsink and cpu and spread it with a credit card.. i don't think that is the best way to do it. anyone else care sharing their experience?
m
l
September 28, 2010 5:39:00 AM