Sign in with
Your question

Tweaking OC-Z Gold DDR2 DRAM (OCZ2G8004GK)

Last response: in Overclocking
Anonymous
a b } Memory
a b K Overclocking
September 27, 2010 9:08:00 PM

I want to make sure that my RAM is performing like it should. After all this RAM claims a whole lot of stuff about being fast? Okay, so let me give you the run down. I'm a novice software guy and an experienced web designer. That's all I'll claim. So, when I am trying to tweak my BIOS settings keep that in mind, because you might have to talk to me like I am a 5 year-old at times.

Here are the timings? ("CAS-TRCD-TRP-TRAS" whatever that means!)
5-5-5-18

Voltage is 1.8V and has some EVP thing about 2.1V?

I am using a Gigabyte MA78LM-S2H w/ Athlon II X4 630 and Ubuntu OS.

I have set my memory voltage to +0.1V making it 1.9V... I dunno if that's okay, but whatever works. What all will have I have to do to tweak my system to get the most out of it... like it still shows my RAM as 800 MHz Unganged... or whatever?

Starting from square one how do I overclock my RAM? I don't care about the CPU being overclocked, because I don't want to buy a new one. So, yeah. Thank you for any help you may give me... I am tired of Googling.
Anonymous
a b } Memory
a b K Overclocking
September 28, 2010 8:16:10 PM

Okay I changed the...
Northbridge frequency to 5x
And another multiplier for the CPU can't remember what it said to 5x.
Changed the Memory clock to 4x (533MHz x 2 = 1066MHz)

I am now seeing timings of 8-7-7-24 in memtest86+ is that better? I only have a 500W power supply... will I be able to tweak anything else without messing with the temperature? I only have one case fan, system fan, and the stock heatsink and fan on the CPU.