Please help me out ( I am new to overclocking )

ace626

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2010
When it comes to overclocking cpus I turn into a little girl , Ive heard way to many horror storys about people messing up there system so Ive always been scared to try. Thats what im here asking you guys for advice.

My system im runing right now is this.

Mobo - ASUS P5N-D LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 750i

Ram - DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 533 (PC2 4200)

CPU - Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor BX80562Q6600

PS - Rosewill RP600V2-S-SL 600W ATX12V v2.01 SLI Ready Power Supply

GFX - Gtx260 core 216 ( Dont think it matters but ill post anyways )

Like I said before , I have an above avg knowledge when it comes to comp. but when it comes to ocing and cpus I turn dumb as a rock , probly cause im just to scared to play around with my bios settings
So yeah , can anyone please help me out and if possible explain as clearly as possible , this would mean alot to me as due to my q6600 having low stock speed I cant play the game i want to with the right performance

- thank you

ace626

Distinguished
Apr 14, 2010
Honesty I read it , but like I said im clueless when it comes to memory/timing and all of that , what Im asking if somone can list the settings I should use , I dont know if thats possible but yeah
I know this comes off like im being lazy , but im really paranoid when it comes to changing bios settings

Don't be. If changes do not work, it is easy to discard them and start over by clearing the CMOS memory.

And if you want to overclock, you will need to change BIOS settings.

First of all, that OC guide is a generic guide. The nVidia BIOS works quite differently compared to the Intel BIOS for the Gigabyte and Asus motherboards. The nVidia BIOS is tied to the FSB clock, not the FSB frequency.

So you will need to take the CPU and memory settings off Auto. At stock speeds, the Q6600 FSB clock will be 1066 MHz. The memory frequency should be 533 MHz.