Sign in with
Your question

SDD for Software Developer

Last response: in Storage
September 18, 2010 7:57:47 AM

I'm a senior software developer who, unlike most, has no real interest in hardware beyond how it affects getting my job done. Every year or so, I look for the "sweet spot" in all the high performance gear and build a new machine. I then mostly abandon the hardware market until I need to build another, or maybe one for the family. As such, I'm having a hard time deciding if the time is right for a major change to SSD rather then the Raptors I've been using (noisy hot things...).

So, I'm looking at a new build. Given the current state of SSDs (or perhaps waiting a month or two tops), what should I do?

I figure maybe a 60GB SSD for the OS is a no brainer. But given what I've ready, how to configure for best long term dependability. Would be nice to have it all there but "common wisdom" (yeah, right) seems to be that I should put volatile files on a fast HD. Kinda defeats the purpose other than initial boot and a few other cases. Others say this is resolved. Could someone help with the current wisdom summary, short of wading through many hours of reviews?

But more important than that, what about my "working data drive". Specifically my Source/Build drive. One of my main clients at the moment has some HUGE source trees with builds that take quite some time (several minutes). Make a change in a core module, and it often gets frustrating waiting for it to build, often only to load in a debugger, profiler, or test suite with still more I/O delays. If I can't put volatile OS files on SSS, then this surely seems like a bad application for the technology.