CPU Swap - Gateway GT5228 / Athlon / New Mobo

bytor54

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2009
Hi there,

This is my first time here, so I apologize for whatever protocols I'm breaking. But let me get to the point and let you all tell me if I'm in the wrong place or need to do something different.

I have a POS Gateway GT5228 (2.5 yrs old) with an Athlon 64 x2 4200+. I recently started having major problems with this machine and more recently discovered it's a major problem with this model: typically seems to be faulty Power Supply which often takes out the Mobo and HDD too ...and/or defective Mobo itself. In any case, the general consensus on the net is this machine is not worth fixing and mine is, of course, well out of warranty.

My questions are:

Can I at least yank the Athlon CPU out of this thing and install it in a new Mobo? I would think so, but with all I read online of people in my same boat, I don't think anyone brought this up as an option.

I realize an older CPU like this is not that expensive and using my old one wouldn't save all that much, but money is pretty tight right now and it might be the way for me to go. Any info and advise would be appreciated.

Many thanks,
Rob
Lynn Haven, FL

bytor54

Distinguished
Jun 3, 2009
Thanks for the info starams5. I'm a little confused on the Mobo though. On the Gateway site, they list the following info for the CPU in my machine:

Specifications
Part Number: 4506318RAMD Athlon 64 4200+ Processor

Following are the specifications for the AMD Athlon™ 64 4200+ processor.
Specifications are subject to change without notice or obligation.

Feature Specification
Processor AMD Athlon™ 64
Model 4200+
Operating Mode 32/64
Stepping F2
Frequency 2200 Mhz
HT Speed 2000
Voltage 1.30 V - 1.35 V
Maximum Temperature 55-70° C
Thermal Power 89 W
L1 Cache 128 KB × 2
L2 Cache 512 KB × 2
CMOS Technology 90 nm SOI
Socket Socket AM2

As you see, they list the socket as AM2, but who knows if that is accurate.