Best PC Speakers for 2009?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shaitan00

Distinguished
Dec 4, 2006
I've got an old pair of (2.1) PC speakers that I've been using since 2004 (Samsung), they worked perfectly fine (200W sub, 2x 14W speakers) and they just died on me - so obviously I'm looking for a replacement...

Most of my time is spent watching shows on my PC (TV), gaming, and some music - I am by far not a music audiofile expert but I appreciate quality sound. I'm looking to spend between $75 - $200 (USD) for a nicer pair of speakers - now the only question is ... which ones ...

I've done some reading and 2 things really suprised me:
1- I would have assumed (5.1) was the way of the future, but for my needs (and in general) most reviewers seem to recommend (2.1) instead, for the price/quality that is
2- The highest rated speakers are from 2004 !...!

Seems the general concensus is the following:
1- (2.1) Logitech Z-2300
2- (2.1) Altec Lansing's VS2321
3- (2.1) Harman Kardon Soundsticks

Seriously ... the best on the market is still an old 2004 PC speakers...?
I do not have a hard time believing that (2.1) is best for my needs (and price) but to go for a system like the Logitech Z-2300 (from 2004..?)

So, obviously I'm here looking for feedback, I love "nifty" speakers (like the SoundSticks which look like an awsome Jellyfish) but they still have to work well (15W sub is pretty pathetic no?) ....

Any comments, feedback, ideas, etc... would be much appreciated - having a hard time swallowing that in 2009 I'll be buying 2004 speakers again...
Thanks,

Bose makes a pair of speakers that will blow those away. They're a bit more at 250 dollars.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16836166005

If you can find them the Klipsch promedia 2.1 was the best for the money at 150 dollars.
http://www.klipsch.com/products/details/promedia-2-1.aspx
My brother found these at a freakin thrift store for 50 bucks.