Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Help overclocking AMD X2 5200+

Last response: in Overclocking
October 5, 2010 10:34:57 AM

I feel that my system is ageing a little and I want to upgrade. The budget is tight so while I save for an X3 or X4 I would like to OC my CPU and get what I can in the mean time. Im new to overclocking and havent been able to make much sense of what Ive found on forums and the like. I would really appreciate any help/advice/instructions with overclocking my cpu as much can be done safely and easily.

Specs as follows (from Speccy):

Operating System: MS Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 Beta

CPU AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+
Windsor 90nm Technology

RAM 3.0GB Dual-Channel DDR2 800 @ 373MHz 5-5-5-18 (2 x 1Gig, 2 x 512 MB)

Motherboard: Gigabyte M61P-S3 (Socket M2) F7g BIOS (Latest)

Graphics: Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5770 512MB (Latest Drivers)

Hard Drives: 245.12GB Maxtor Maxtor 6L250R0 ATA Device (IDE)
244.20GB Seagate ST325041 0AS SCSI Disk Device (SCSI) (Primary)

The MIB/overclocking section in the BIOS reads currently as follows:

CPU Frequency (mhz): 200

PCIE Clock (mhz): 100

CPU Clock Ration: Auto

CPU HT - Link Voltage: Normal

Chipset Voltage Control: Normal

DDR 2 Voltage Control: Auto

CPU Voltage Control: Normal

(Greyed out) Normal CPU Vcore 1.3000v

What do I need to change in the BIOS to up the CPU speed and what is the best 'safe' bet? 3Ghz? Also, will stock cooling be enough or should I upgrade that now with the OC? What is a good and cheap option?

More about : overclocking amd 5200

October 5, 2010 1:30:40 PM

First go to

http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Manual/motherboard...

Then go to page 27 and read the directions for clearing CMOS. If you over overclock your processor, you may not be able to book enough to even get into the BIOS. In that case the only way to get your computer running again will be to clear CMOS and reset all BIOS settings to default.

Then go to page 29 for instructions for entering the BIOS