nonuts

Distinguished
Oct 7, 2010
Hey guys, total Noob here so be gentle..........

So after many months of reading and researching, i finally put together a new home rig picking the best components i could afford. It's for general computing, watching/ripping videos, lots of MS Office Apps, Word, Excel (With extensive detail and multi tabbed spreadsheets), some web development (MySQL, PHP, Java, etc..), i may play the odd game, but i've got the PS3 and Xbox 360 for that stuff. I just wanted to build something decent to have and last me for a while. My PC runs 24/7. I rarely, if ever turn it off.

My Build:
Cooler Master Storm Sniper Black Case
Asus P7P55D-E Pro MB
i5-760 CPU
2 X F3-12800CL7D-4GBRM G.Skill (Total 8GB Ram)
Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B cooler
WD1002FAEX 1TB Hard Drive - I know i should of went SSD, but $$$$$$ Future Upgrade....
Corsair HX750 Power Supply
Sapphire Vapor-X HD5770 1GB
Windows 7 - 64 Bit

So i've been experimenting with overclocking, based on many posts here and other places, with pretty good success. However, here's my question (Probably first of many.......) I can easily hit 4GHz on air, but i can do it several ways. My computer is at home so i don't have any screen prints or anything to share until i get back home.

How i started overclocking:
Enter BIOS - Load defaults for Motherboard.
Disable Asus Express Gate
Disable C1E, Speedstep, C-State and Turbo
Leave Load Line Calibration to Auto
Set CPU Fan to Turbo Option
I think all other settings remained as their defaults based on the motherboard defaults.

Option 1: Seems to be the easiest on the system and easiest for me to achieve
BCLK Freq = 191 X CPU Ratio = 21 = 4011MHz
VCORE : 1.2375V - As low as i can get it to run stable
IMC: 1.1V
QPI (Auto)
DRAM V = 1.6V
DRAM Timings: 7-7-7-24 - i know it's supposed to be 7-8-7-24, but i stuck it at 7-7-7-24 and no problems so far?
Ram running at - DDR3-1528MHz

I've run CPU-Z to show settings, i run REALTEMP and Intel Burn Test(IBT)