Sign in with
Your question

Is this a good deal?

Last response: in Systems
March 5, 2009 5:59:08 PM

I am looking to build a new PC, but came across this. I am afraid of bargains, but it looks like a good deal. What do you think?

AMD Phenom X4 9500 2.20ghz Socket AM2+ Retail Processor
(4) Hitachi Deskstar 7k1000.B Hard Drives
2 Pieces of Kinston 2048mb PC5400 DDR2 Memory
Asus M2N68-AM ATX Motherboard
Thermaltake Element S ATX mid-T Case
Ultra LSP650 650-Watt Power Supply

All for 699.99

I will have to buy a graphics card on top of the total.

I am going to be using this PC for 3d animation, I just don't know if this is going to give me what I need to be able to run applications like Zbrush, Maya, and Photoshop.

More about : good deal

March 5, 2009 6:44:59 PM

I wouldn't get that one. The CPU is not very good, cheap mobo...You can do better building it yourself.
March 5, 2009 6:47:55 PM

Well I can tell you this much, I'm no expert in anyway, that phenom was AMD's first attempt at quad core and they were buggy. Im not sure the extent of the bug or how it affects the cpu. The MB is an older chipset not sure how great it is. Im not sure of the quality of Hitachi drives but that is alot of space. The Ultra PSU is not considered quality either. If it were me I would rather get higher quality components. I bought a cheap MB once and regretted it. I had to replace it 9 months later.
Related resources
March 5, 2009 7:01:34 PM

Nope. Mediocre cpu. Very slow ram. Poor quality MB and psu.
March 5, 2009 7:07:38 PM

Don't get it.
March 5, 2009 8:13:43 PM

Yeah, I was getting the same feeling, but I haven't upgraded my computer in over 4 years now. Thank you all for you help!
March 5, 2009 9:21:18 PM

If you want help upgrading your system, let us know what you need and your budget and we can find you a much better deal.
March 5, 2009 10:44:02 PM