donedoknow

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2010
I'm really new to overclocking, although the concept isn't new at all, 3 years ago when I bought my PC i bought it with OCing in mind (never did it until now, and boy is it tricky at first...).

I'm Running a Q6600 on P5E Asus board, OC'ed to 3.4 (9x378)

I had so many questions to ask but after taking a look through this forum (which is so god damned awesome >.<) most of them are answered, I have just a few last questions which I've been unable to find (at least not without spending ages... unable to find easily should be the correct term, as I'm sure its answered somewhere... but I must be blind...)

Question 1.
How reliable is [Auto], because I've OC'ed this system leaving so many things on auto, that I'm thinking its not such a efficient way to OC

Concerns: These are the settings which I've left on auto which I believe I may want to change (I left on auto because I really didn't know what to do with them)

D ram Frequency
D ram timing control
Dram command rate
Dram static read control
Transaction booster
CPU PLL voltage
FSB Termination voltage

The only settings which I've altered in the bios are:
9 x 378
Vcore voltage 1.42500
2.02 Dram Voltage
1.45 NB Voltage
1.075 SB Voltage

Upon loading on bios I can see that auto has put the Dram Frequency at 757

Actually, even tho I've read that increasing the FSB increases ram speed etc... and all that... but I never understood how ram speeds actually work when I overclock the FSB... is there more potential for me to overclock the ram?

(I'm assuming I'm at my OC'ing limit with my CPU as it runs rather hot at the moment, If i take everest's cpu temp, then at 60ish under load from what I've read is safe, but the problem is here in Queensland Australia... it get REEALLYYYYYYYYY hot during summer >.< so... better not to try push the upper limits)

I've read stuff like 2x400 = 800 mhz... (which is my ram)

and other stuff like 16 x number = pc 6400 kind of ram... (also my kinda ram)