Stop programs from installing onto SSD

jthoov

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2009
Hey guys;

I just built a new computer and it's my first time with an SSD.

I'm having a problem though. I don't have a lot of space on my SSD and some programs I download like Microsoft Security Essentials or Google Chrome don't allow me to choose the directory or hard drive that I wish to install it on.

Now those 2 have just auto installed onto my SSD.

Is there a way to change the directory of ALL MY INSTALLATIONS so that they go onto my second and normal big hard drive?

Thank you

randomizer

Champion
The easiest option would be to move your entire Program Files (and/or Program files (x86)) folder to another drive and then open up a command prompt as Administrator and enter the following:

cd C:\
mklink /d "Program Files (x86)" "X:\Path\To\Moved\Folder"

This will create a symbolic link (basically a shortcut that is transparent to other applications) on C:\ and all programs installed to C:\Program Files will in fact be stored somewhere else. Note that this will not affect things added to the Windows Registry or files added in other locations. The second directory path and folder name can be anything, but the first thing after the /d must be named exactly the same as the original folder.

You may find that Windows doesn't think you have permission to move that folder. You may have to mess with permissions to get it moved.

jthoov

Distinguished
Jun 29, 2009

So for example; (Assuming the other hard drive is named "D" and I create a folder named "Programs" for it.

I copy and paste both the Program Files and the Programs Files (x86) from my SSD and paste in onto my other hard drive.

Then I open command and type in

step1) cd C:\ (then I press enter?)
step2) mklink /d "Program Files" "D:\Programs" (then press enter?)
step3) exit ?

and do it all over again but this time for "Program Files (x86)"?

Al_56

Distinguished
Jan 13, 2012