Solved

Need help with overclocking i5 750

Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Overclocking
  • Intel i5
Last response: in Overclocking
October 14, 2010 6:02:04 AM

This is my first time overclocking the cpu.

I have bunch of questions to ask you guys.

My computer setups are:

I5 750 @ stock

stock cooler (will probably upgrade to either hyper 212+ or h50)

Asus p7p55-m micro ATX motherboard. (only 4 pin for the cpu. Is this going to be affecting the oc-ing ability? Do I need higher end motherboard?)

G.skill ddr3 1600mhz 9 9 9 24n (In cpuz ram is clocked at around 2200mhz and I have not done anything to the ram settings in bios. How do I set the ram's clock back to its stock freq.?)

ocz vertex 2 120gb

antec Neo Eco 520c (40amps single 12v rail)

dvdrw

1.5tb 7200rpm seagate hdd

nzxt Lexa S.

I'd like my pc to be fast as well as efficient. So is it possible to OC while turbo boost and power saving feature are enabled?
I am targeting around 3.2 ghz (when all cores are active) with stock voltage.

What are the steps in detail?

More about : overclocking 750

Best solution

October 19, 2010 5:05:51 AM

You should be fine with that 4 pin power supply for this kind of overclock. You'll probably want to disable the power saving features and turbo boost for now, but have them on once everything is stabilized.