My First Build - A little Advice Please :-)

cpatuzzo

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2009
Hey there, I'm new here, thanks in advance.

>> Read my post down below, he offered me a slight change in the deal to accomodate RAID. <<

I'm from the UK and thinking of buying this bundle from ebay: Link

I'm planning on building a gaming rig and figured the high speed dual cores are probably still better than the low speed quads. Is this a fair assumption?

I'm not too interested in SLI, but I would like to set up a RAID configuration. Would this board support it?

Is the RAM the fastest the board can support, if it's not, will this make a great deal of difference?

I've not sorted out a PSU yet, if I get this bundle and set up perhaps four 7200rpms in RAID, and a reasonably fancy GPU, what kind of PSU wattage should I be looking for?

Anyway thanks a lot for any help. As I say, I'm new to this, but I've been interested in a long time. Cheers.

njxc500

Distinguished
Apr 30, 2008
Looks like a pretty solid deal for around $250 US.

However, it doesn't support raid. You would need a separate controller.

Brings me to my next point.

IT ONLY HAS ONE X16 SLOT.

This is no good, I don't care about SLI either, but many RAID cards use this, not to mention numerous other things. You would be better off finding a motherboard with an ich10r southbridge. even an 8 or 9 would be better. Intel adds an "R" on the southbridge model number for Raid controllers. thus an ich9R would have raid capability.

I like Gigabyte.

As for the rest, the processor is solid, and the memory is a bit slow, but I run 800, don't think it makes too much difference.

cpatuzzo

Distinguished
Aug 18, 2009
I've emailed the seller and he offered to provide an alternative.

"this board doesnt support raid but i can provide an alternate asus board that will. probably p5ql se for an extra £30"