Sign in with
Your question

GA-MA785GM-US2H vs GA-MA785G-UD3H - or Suggestions?

Last response: in Motherboards
a b V Motherboard
August 19, 2009 6:19:45 AM

Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H vs GA-MA785G-UD3H

I'm looking to replace my AOpen AK77-400N M/B (Athlon 2400+/2GHz) with something new and faster. I've always been happy with Gigabytes in the past so looking at them exclusively. The AOpen I bought used because at the time I was still using several PCI cards (even an AT card) and wanted its 6 slots. Time has passed and I rarely use any PCI's now except a nice ATA133/Raid card to give me 2-4 extra IDE drives. I usually run at least 3 IDE drives plus a CD-RW. I've been running 1GB of RAM for 2 years, tried taking it up to 3GBs after memory seemed to be failing but similar or worse problems. (The cost of 3 GBs DDR is over twice that of 4GBs DDR2) I get no boot sometimes and frequent BSODs, but less often with new RAM. So I've got either BIOS, PS, M/B, RAM addressing or old-age problems with this board.

I'm not a gamer. I use the computer generally for office apps, some graphics, old scenario games and the Internet. And I don't plan to play DVDs on my computer, but time does march on. I'm attracted to the built-in sound and video and don't plan to enhance it - certainly not at this time.

I prefer the GA-MA785G-UD3H because of the standard ATX size - it has an extra PCI Express x16 slot x4 slot which seems to be only good for a paired ATI Crossfire card - can't see getting one of these much less a 2nd one! It also has 2 extra PCI Express x1 slots (what are they good for?) and a 6th SATA port. The ATX version also solves the graphics card blocking SATA issue.

I'm planning on the AMD Phenom II X2 545 Callisto 3.0GHz with either board. Seems to be a good medium between speed and price for my current and 3yr future uses.