Sign in with
Your question

Hi everyone!!!! i7 for non gamer

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
June 8, 2009 12:55:11 PM

:hello:  I am new to the Tom's hardware forum. I am a non gamer. In the future, maybe, I would like to probably play a game or two. However, I am sure it wouldn't be frequent at all.

I know what you guys are asking. What do I use the computer for? Well, I like to basically surf the net. I like to download music and videos. I like to play card games like poker stars, full tilt poker, yahoo spades, etc and I love to listen to music via the computer :bounce:  .

With all of these things in mind, do I really need an i7 or is it best to get a quad core? Here are the computer I have in mind. Is is overkill??

HP Pavilion Elite m9600t series

Operating system Genuine Windows Vista Home Premium with Service Pack 1 (64-bit)

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-920 processor (2.66GHz, 1MB L2 + 8MB shared L3 cache with QPI Technology)

Memory 6GB DDR3-1066MHz SDRAM [3 DIMMs]

Hard drive 500GB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive

Graphics card 512MB ATI Radeon HD 4350 [DVI, HDMI, VGA adapter]

Primary optical drive LightScribe 16X max. DVD+/-R/RW SuperMulti drive

Networking Integrated 10/100/1000 (Gigabit) Ethernet, No wireless LAN

Front Productivity Ports 15-in-1 memory card reader, 2 USB, 1394, audio

Sound Card Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio

Speakers Logitech X-540 5.1 stereo speakers

Keyboard and Mouse HP multimedia keyboard and HP premium laser mouse

Productivity software Microsoft(R) Works 9.0

Security software Norton Internet Security(TM) 2009 - 15 month

I am trying to figure out if I am over doing it. If I am, their is a quad core computer from hp that has very similar configurations at 2.66 ghz. All I want is a fast computer that will allow me to do the above effortlessly.

More about : gamer

a c 159 à CPUs
June 8, 2009 2:58:30 PM