AMD Phenom II x4 955 or Intel Core 2 Duo E8600

chriszp

Distinguished
Jun 9, 2009
Hi guys, i've been reading a lot of mixed opinions on which CPU is better. Im looking to build a pc basically for 3d modeling and rendering, i'm a graphic designer so there will definetly be a lot of multi-tasking involved. I do some gaming but it wouldn't be of prime concern. Im either wanting to buy the 955 or the E8600 but like i said i can't make up my mind. Also if anyone can give me some input on which mobo is nice. (First time building)

Thanks!. :hello:

rooseveltdon

Distinguished
Jan 18, 2009
I am sorry but i really don't see how you could be confused about this,the 955 beats the E8600 in almost every benchmark and the E8600 is nowhere near the 955 in multi tasking. You are comparing a dual core to a quad core that has similar amount of cache and similar clock speed but with twice the number of cores,this is not even a contest other than some of the high end core 2 quads (the Q9 series) and the i7 there is nothing in the intel line up that competes with the 955,this is a no brainer if you are multi tasker then the 955 HAS to be your first choice at least in this case.

r_manic

Administrator
In my experience as a former computer animation student, them Maya dudes always tended towards Intel CPUs, to ensure stability (if something goes wrong in an hours-long rendering process, that's wasted time).

However, given AMD's apparent advances, I wouldn't discount them completely. In short, go for the faster CPU. Look around for benchmarks to help you out.

Malcolmk

Distinguished
May 31, 2007