24GB RAM?! wondering what you can do with that...

http://www.alienware.com/customize/alx-x58-r2-desktop.aspx?SysCode=PC-ALX-X58-R2&SubCode=SKU-DEFAULT

wondering what you can do with a lot of RAM... because I'm planning to buy a new rig my first core i7 or core i9 rig maybe next year with 24GB ram.
6 answers Last reply
More about 24gb wondering that
  1. Are you mad?
  2. Some professional photo/video and CAD/CAM apps could potentially use that much. But if you use them, you most likely would know that already. Besides that? Makes a nice space heater, I guess. Good for the e-peen...

One of those questions where if you have to ask, then the answer is probably "no".

<...and please don't mistake me for a 2GB/XP holdout - My own system has 8GB and I've been running 64 bit OS's exclusively for the last 3 years.>
  3. Quote:
    Some professional photo/video and CAD/CAM apps could potentially use that much. But if you use them, you most likely would know that already. Besides that? Makes a nice space heater, I guess. Good for the e-peen...

One of those questions where if you have to ask, then the answer is probably "no".

<...and please don't mistake me for a 2GB/XP holdout - My own system has 8GB and I've been running 64 bit OS's exclusively for the last 3 years.>

Yeah that about sums it up^ if youre buying an alienware youre using it for gaming and in all truth you wont see any real fps/performance gains from such a ridicolous amount of ram.
    On an opinion note i would avoid alienware just from a cost standpoint. Youre going to pay 4-6k for something the following year you could buy for 1500-2500 bucks. Youd be better off buying a reasonably priced one and upgrading it every year.
  4. If you had even a chance of using half that ram, you would already know. Seeing as you have to ask I highly doubt you spend a lot of time doing 3d engineering or HD video editing.