Need help to asses the performance of my rig! PLEASE

curiat

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2009
Hi there!

I'm really new to this PC stuff so please be patient with me.'

I have a pretty dusted old rug of a pc.
P4 3GHz Prescott HT
OLD uATX ASrock mobo with AGP 8x graphics.
2 x 512 MB Aeneon DDR1 400MHz Ram
ATI Radeon 9600 series 256MB

Since i have little money to invest in a proper rig a friend came up with a quite interesting alternative for me that i can afford.

I basically have to buy this new mobo (which has a PCIe 16x slot and supports DDR2 4GB 667MHz) and 4GB (2 x 2GB) Corsair Value KIT DDRII 667MHz and the ATI Radeon 3870 512MB DDR4.
http://global.msi.com.tw/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=1&cat2_no=170&prod_no=1525
I only have to pay around 160$ for all the parts.

My exact question is: Will the graphic card be able to get decent fps rates in modern games like they show it does in benchmarks? I mean will the P4 CPU be able to keep the card under control and not bottleneck and cause the game performance to drop considerably... I'm asking this cuz they all benchmark these cards with the newest CPU that i will never be able to afford so i never know what to do.

Thank you for your time in advanced.. It really matter to me to get a answer.

curiat

Distinguished
Mar 10, 2009

I had to install a 550W (i think it's a TS Power or something, basically a no name) because my old 330W stopped working one day. Thenew one has one PCIe 6+2Pin Jacks for new graphic cards models so it should be OK i hope.

Really appreciate your time investment to answer my questions.

No problem. That PSU should be powerful enough, no worries. Sapphire recommends 450W or more for their HD 3870 and you have 550W. I haven't seen MSI's recommendations but it's the same card, just with a different cooler.

You only need a 6-pin PCI-E connector, and the 6+2 you have can be used as a 6-pin all right.