Sign in with
Your question

HP m7670.uk e6600 overclock HELP and RAM concerns.

Last response: in Overclocking
October 25, 2010 6:16:02 PM

I am completely new to overclocking and this would be my first one. I am concerned about keeping the RAM low enough to be stable but it would be best to keep the RAM in a 1:1 ratio with the e6600.. but the e6600's stock FSB is 1066MHz, and DDR2 ram shouldn't go further than that so that means the RAM frequency is already lower than the FSB. So now i'm guessing it's the bus speed, which is the FSB divided by 4.. but that's too low.. or wait, because it's DDR2 do I multiply by 2, so that goes to 533MHz, yes that's right, I think, amirite? So the 1:1 ratio business is sorted.

So if I need to keep my RAM frequency the same because it fails too much I could underclock the RAM speed by this amount if I want my e6600 @ 3GHz...
So I have DDR2 ram @533MHz
2399.4/266.6=9 (multiplier)
so...
2997(3GHz)/9=333MHz (which I found was a recommended bus speed for the cpu, yay!)
I need the FSB:RAM ratio, unfourtunately I don't have the computer atm, and I think the video card is broken so it cant start up, if someone could find out the ratio I'd be very happy ;) 
let's assume the FSB RAM ratio is 3:5
333-266.6=66.4 FSB increase, so errrm.. x5 = 332 divide by 3 (how I do it) = 110.66 reccuring, fail. I think that means I must underclock by 110.66 or near enough to not go outside overclocking (and underclocking?? :o  ) bounderies. IF THE RATIO IS 3:5.
Or I could just clock the CPU seperatly DX