Home-Built Supercomputer for Scientific Computing

bgood44

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2009
Hello all!

I am an Aerospace Engineer and looking to build a homemade "super computer", for lack of a better name. The computer's sole purpose will be to perform computational fluid dynamics (CFD). As you may know, CFD is very demanding when it comes to cpu performance. I would like the system to run a linux os. It will primarily running FORTRAN 90, C, and C++. It will also be running MATLAB, but in a less demanding manor. Along with fortran and C++, GAMBIT will be used for CFD grid generation and Fluent will be used for its cfd codes.
Complex cfd programs can produce data files in the terabytes range, although I dont plan on getting that in depth. Speed is primary concern. What can I build for under $10k USD?

Thanks Guys

ShadowFlash

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2009
how about a VX50? I know it's E-bay....but this guy has some real high-end stuff with warranty. Check out the double wide chassis S4985 he's got listed if you need alot of drive space too. About as close as you'll get to a "personal supercomputer".

http://shop.ebay.com/merchant/marsbrode_W0QQ_nkwZQQ_armrsZ1QQ_fromZQQ_mdoZ

If you have your heart set on building one yourself, you can always pick-up a barebones VX50 or the "cheaper" FT48. Don't know if this is the type of thing you have in mind, or if you're looking for something a little more traditional.

bgood44

Distinguished
Mar 12, 2009
To be honest, Im not exactly sure what I'm looking for. Im not really familiar with the VX50, although I will look into it. My knowledge of computer hardware is quite limited, I just know how to use them :). I am not opposed to buying a system like this, I just figured that I could build something tailored specifically for my needs, and do it more cost effectively. Oh and i don't know if this is important but the system needs to be able to perform double precision calculations. Again, speed speed speed...

ShadowFlash

Distinguished