Whats dual channel and triple and timing

surda

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2009
hello

im kinda new to this, and i wanna know whats dual channel and triple channel, whats the difference between them and how do gain performance by doing them, and how do u even do them .

also if the cpu bus speed is lower than the ram bus speed, how would that effect the bus speed of the ram?

edit one more question

whats this timing thing 6-6-6 18 7-7-7 21 is it better when having lower timing or higher? and how does that effect the performance of the ram or the whole computer in general.

i know thats alot of questions lol, but this is the best website to ask these questions since there is alot of people who are experts in computers and stuff.

thanks in advance.

huron

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2007
People don't mind answering questions, but have you tried to google any of this yet, or have you read any of the new build guides?

howstuffworks.com has a good overview explanation of the RAM timings, and you can even get a decent explanation from wikipedia.

Lower timings are better, but you have to take into account that timings for DDR2 and DDR3 differ when it comes to real world performance.

surda

Distinguished
Aug 7, 2009
i did search about dual and triple, but not sure if its right.

so here.

dual channel, lets say ddr2 ram 800 mhz, its not 800 mhz, its actually 400 x2 thats dual channel.

as for triple channel which supports high bus speeds for ddr3, lets say 1800 mhz, its 600 x 3.

i read that you can get these bus speeds as long as your motherboard supports them, if not then it will be unstable.

about the timing lower is better, why because 6-6-6 takes less time to response than 7-7-7 and by that give more performance because its faster.

now im not 60% sure if any of the above is true, thats why i asked these questions over here, so can someone confirm and if there is anything wrong please correct me.

thanks.

MaDMagik

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2008