Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Just got my new SSD...is it good enough (6.7)WinRating...

Last response: in Storage
October 2, 2010 12:39:56 AM

ok so i just installed my ssd and win 7 on it.

immediately i ran to do a Win rating test cause u know...i mean i notice its fast but i havent installed any of my major work progs like adobe suite etc............

no games etc............

so overall, my other Win ratings are the same .... and before, my win rating was 5.4 based on my hdd......everything else was high

its now

procc 7.2
ram 7.2
graphics 7.6
gaming graphics 7.6

hard disk....went from 5.4 to 6.7

is that a good jump? a good reasonable jump?

also, now that i have this up n running, is there anything i should do to give it a boost or to make it run properly....i keep reading something about achi orSOMEthing like that..............im a noob learning.

thanks in advaced

edit*** sry
i got a 64g kingston V series (whats on the box)

More about : ssd good winrating

a b G Storage
October 2, 2010 1:29:18 AM

I've never cared about the Winx numbers, but at your request I took a look. With a 120GB OCX Vertex, the HD rating is 7.4

m
l
a b G Storage
October 2, 2010 2:21:10 AM

If the Win rating test had any real value it would have put the SSD at 67, not 6.7. :D 
m
l
Related resources
a c 353 G Storage
October 2, 2010 4:15:01 AM

Although I concur WIE is not a good benchmark. It does provide some relavence.
Most SSDs range from about 7.2 to 7.8/7.9 (Only some of the newer ones are hitting the 7.9. Most "good ones" get from about 7.4 to 7.7

Forgetting that HDDs are limited to 5.9 pretty much and that SSDs are considerably faster and should probably score higher. The Kingston is on the low end of SSDs and deserves the 6.7 rating. Been a couple of threads on this SSD and it's performance compared to other SSds.

Mine
Intel 80 gig G2 varies from 7.4 -> 7.8
Torqx 128 gig arround 7.3 -> 7.4
WD blue around 7.1 (Not much better than Kingston)