Sign in with
Your question

Please Help....I need a comp and I am new to this

Last response: in Systems
March 14, 2009 7:30:39 PM

Hello all,
I am looking for some help in building a new system. My budget is 800 dollars. I am in my freshman year as IT student, so I do not have much knowledge. I would like something that is capable of playing new games although it is not my primary purpose (mostly school work and websurfing). I recently bought an msi laptop (gx630). It was defective and returned. Now I think my money would go further in a desktop. I have looked at barebone kits but I am lost. I would need a monitor as well. So please keep that in mind when budgeting. Thank you

More about : comp

March 14, 2009 8:37:01 PM

Best place to look is the $625 "system builder marathon" builds here at Tom's, they don't include the operating system, monitor, keyboard or mouse, so the $800 budget should be ballpark. They usually focus on gaming, so a downgrade in the graphic card is something to keep in mind (4870 to a 4850 or a 4830.)

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/overclock-e5200-rad...

I hope the next $625 build will include an AMD Phenom llx3 processor.
March 14, 2009 9:15:41 PM

I find I need to do this on a regular basis, so I can see what are the best deals these days... so here is a list:

Antec 300 case
This is a decent case at a good price.

Gigabyte UD3R
Good solid P45 motherboard.

E7400
Good performance at a good price. Easily overclocked with the cooler listed next.

Xigmatek Dark Knight
Excellent cooling.

G.Skill PI Black 800Mhz 4GB
Lots of nice fast RAM. Real purdy too, and the box say, "..enable better performance and long time using." :p 

Seasonic 500W modular PSU
Well, you don't need 650W, and for the price this is an awfully high quality unit...

Corsair 650TX
Well, you don't need 650W, but for the price this is an awfully high quality unit... :p 

HIS 4830
Decent frames. Will play all titles, although not everything at max of course.

WD 320GB