Need help troubleshooting new system build!

jamesb07

Distinguished
Aug 28, 2009
I am a new computer builder and need help figuring out what is going wrong...

I did all the research, put everything together, turned it on and it seemed to work fine for long enough to format the hardrive, install windows, and that was about it.

Here are the specs:

BIOSTAR TForce TA790GX A3+ AM3 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
AMD Phenom II X2 550 black 3.1ghz dual core processor
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)
SAPPHIRE Vapor-X 100269VXLE Radeon HD 4890 1GB 256-bit GDDR5
CHIEFTEC Turbo CFT-700-14C 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI PSU
SAMSUNG TOC T260HD Rose Black 25.5" 1080p monitor
Windows vista home premium 64bit edition

It originally had a PSU that came with the case. I suspected that it didn't have enough power to power the Vapor-x card so I installed the OS without the graphics card in. It seems to have the same problem whether the graphics card is in or not...

When I hit the power switch it gives me all four phase led lights on the motherboard, all the fans are going, but it seems to be stuck in that position, no boot-up sequence, no signal to the monitor, nothing. If I hit the reset power button, sometimes it does nothing and continues to be stuck and I have to turn the power switch on the PSU off. Occasionally when I hit the reset power button, it will go through the boot sequence and boot all the way to the Windows Vista screen. However, after a few seconds the monitor goes blank, as in no signal to the monitor, and I am back to the place where I started before hitting the reset power button (4 leds on the Mobo phase 1-4 all lit up, and the two indicator leds dark.) This time when I hit the reset button nothing happens, when I hold down the power button nothing happens, I have to turn off the power to the PSU again.