Closed

Sudden PC restarts while playing Company of Heroes or Call of Duty 5

Tags:
  • Nvidia
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
April 7, 2009 1:17:14 PM

Hi everyone!

Im not a Newbie to PC and Games and experienced with drivers etc... but Im completly frustrated about this problem:

I have a problem with any NVIDIA Geforce driver above 178.13 and playing Company of Heroes or Opposing Fronts... this is the last working driver for my MSI Geforce 8800 GTS 512MB Card. With any other driver above (also with newest 182.50 and all between), company of heroes (and OF) are crashing with a complete pc restart when there is action on the screen after 10-20min...

My temps of the graphic card and quad core cpu are completely normal, i already tried increasing my fan to reduce them further , same problem with 10 degrees less! My PSU ist a 600W Toughpower ATX, so no problem with the power support.
With the 178.13 Driver i can play for hours and hours without any problems...

I tried all possible solutions... upgrading bios, slower tact rates of my graficcard and processor, deinstalling all previous drivers and the drvier sweeper to wipe everything out,... nothing works. I always installed with antivirus off and "clean" (after deinstalling older driver)

I dont think its the temperature of anything because my graficcard has the same temperature with 178.13 or 182.50 (and the processor too)! But with anything above til 182.50 it crashes (without bluescreen, its a sudden shutdown and following restart, no error message), with 178.13 its fine... no temperature association!