Overclocking E6600

TheFamous

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2010
Hey!

I have an Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40Ghz 65nm 4MB CPU that I want to overclock to about 3-3.2 GHz. And I'm new to overclocking so I'm not 100% sure about what I need to have in mind to know how much I can overclock my CPU(how much my system can handle)

These are my specifications:

-Memory: 2xCorsair 1GB DDR2 667MHz + Corsair 2GB DDR2 667MHz

-CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 2.40Ghz 65nm 4MB

-Motherboard: MSI P6N SLi Plantium

And some deeper specifications about my CPU in the form of pictures:
Core Tempature:
a0evza.png

I'm not sure but that looks awfully high?
By the way, I was not running any other programs other than my anti-virus program and Core Temp.

CPU specs:
xc2jxw.png

More CPU specs:
14bhs79.png

Memory specs:
20j24qu.png

Questions:

1.Would I need to get a cooling system for my CPU if I would overclock it?
2.How much does it look like from my specifications that I could overclock my CPU?

Apart from that I'm really just looking for some hints and tips! :)

Thanks in advance TheFamous.

Your CPU temperatures are much too high, what does the BIOS health monitor show the temperatures as after you have been running at full load for a while? You need to find out what the true temperatures are before you begin to overclock.

TheFamous

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2010
Something just camp up. Since the CPU temperature was so high I decided to get the HSF of and blow some dust of it and install it back again. OK, so I did that and plugged everything in BUT after about a minute or so my computer shut down without warnings.

Does that mean that my CPU is fried?
Or did I install the HSF incorrectly on? (Pretty sure I didn't)
Or what could be the problem?

TheFamous

Distinguished
Nov 2, 2010
Small update: