Sign in with
Your question

Dell Studio desktop 540 & Q6600

Last response: in Overclocking
November 6, 2010 7:05:48 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm stuck between upgrading my motherboard and CPU or OC'ing and getting just a new motherboard. As you all probably know, Dells don't have anything useful in the BIOS regarding overclocking, except for maybe some of their XPS models. I tried using some FSB tuning programs, but for some reason anytime I try and boost the FSB frequency something else prevents it from booting (probably the RAM, but I'm not sure since I'm completely new to this...).

I'm looking for a stable 3.0GHz if possible, as I heard that the Q6600 can handle that. I'll probably have to get a new mobo though.

Should I bother trying to OC or should I go for an upgrade? I'm not sure the upgrade would be worth the money...I'm trying to get FSX running with more stable framerates, especially with some of the add-on aircraft.
a c 156 V Motherboard
a c 197 K Overclocking
November 8, 2010 3:01:35 PM

Will your BIOS let you manually select a 333 MHz FSB frequency? If your CPU chip can run at 3.0 GHz without a voltage increase, that may be your simplest approach.

That worked for me with an ECS motherboard with no other OC capabilities.
m
l
Related resources
November 8, 2010 7:45:43 PM

I have the 9800GTX+, so it's definitely not the graphics card that's the problem. Especially with Flight Simulator X, which is way more CPU load than GPU. I'm looking for more CPU power.
m
l
November 8, 2010 9:20:32 PM

I realize that Dell motherboards have no true OC capability, but here are my spec's:

Manufacturer:
Dell Inc.
Processor:
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.4GHz
Memory:
6144MB RAM (6GB spec)
Hard Drive:
483 GB (500GB spec)
Video Card:
BFG NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ OC 512MB GDDR3
Monitor:
Dell Widescreen 19" 16:10 ratio 1440x900 (Digital)
Sound Card:
Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
Speakers/Headphones:
Stereo Standard Dell Speakers + Subwoofer