Sign in with
Your question
Closed

PSU fan facing down or up?

Last response: in Components
June 19, 2009 2:14:49 PM

Hey everyone i was looking at some system mods and noticed that some people put their power supply in the case so that the fan was facing up near the mobo, i guess to act like an exhaust and it got me thinking;

I am new to pc building and when i got my power supply i mounted it so the fan was at the bottom because there were vent holes and my manual told me too lol.

but i just wondered what provides better airflow? and if i should flip my power supply?

and i thought if the PSU was sucking in hot air from all the other components wouldn't it shorten the PSU's life span?

I have a CM 690 case and just wondered what is best?

thanks in advance

More about : psu fan facing

a c 144 ) Power supply
June 19, 2009 2:27:18 PM

I have Antec 900 cases, also with the bottom mount PSU. I mount my PSU's with the fan facing upward toward the motherboard.

Except for hard drives, there are really no heat producing components in the bottom of the case. The video card and the CPU are mounted higher. In my system, PSU exhaust air is about 3 C. above ambient. Of course, it helps that I tend to operate my PSU's at around 50% - 60% of capacity.
June 19, 2009 2:27:29 PM

HI,
I do the same in my tj-09, this way the psu never take pre-heated air from inside the case.
I think it's better. Just be sure you have a dust filter , because if you take air from the room to get the psu in low temp and this air is full of ... It's not a better think too do in long term. If your case don't have dust filter some pc mod shop sell kit to stick on the pc or you can make your with velcro.
bye
Related resources
June 19, 2009 2:33:44 PM